Beyond the Scientist: Saskia de Wildt


Saskia de Wildt, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology.

Where were you born?

In Smallingerland, the official name of the city Drachten in the Northern province Friesland. My parents moved here close before I was born from a small village close to Amsterdam for my father’s work at Philips.

Where do you live and with whom?

My partner Ron and I live in a beautiful apartment in the centre of Nijmegen, overlooking the city, a park and the Waal river. 

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

I did not really have a role model. Although…. Both my mother and my aunt loved and wore beautiful clothes, I think that explains why I also like to dress nicely. 

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

I took their love for clothes with me. Also, both my mother and aunt worked when I was a child and that must have contributed to my own belief that it is completely normal for women to have their own careers. 

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

Roadbiking up the Mont Ventoux 3 times in one day, two years in a row, was an achievement, I never imagined would be in my reach.

In work, I am most proud of my PhD students who work enthusiastically and really hard on all our different projects.  

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

Building a strong research group bridging our pharmacology research from the bench to the clinic. 

For what can we wake you up?

As a paediatric intensive care doctor, I am woken up a lot during my sleep. I really started to appreciate an undisturbed sleep….  

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

Road biking, I am not very fast, but like a diesel I start slow and then can go for a long time.

What is your biggest irritation?

Too many exciting things to do, but not enough time.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

Our best friends, we do not see them enough. 

<< back to overview news items